So Many Favors to Choose From

I know I promised last time I would have more invitation details.  I’ve totally been slacking and need to take some photos of those!  But for now I figured I would share what we are doing for favors.

I’ve been to multiple weddings over the past five years and have seen so many creative and thoughtful favors:

  • Chocolate bars
  • Smore kits (complete with the marshmallow, graham cracker and chocolate)
  • Chocolate covered candy apple
  • Chocolate covered popcorn
  • Picture frames
  • Margarita mix
  • Flowers/plants
  • Coasters
  • Wine
  • Wine toppers
  • Etched wine glasses
  • Mix CD’s of the couple’s favorite songs
  • Candles
  • Puppies (ok, maybe not puppies)

I’m sure I’m forgetting some, but you get the idea.

When it came time for Fiance and I to come up with what we would do for favors, we didn’t know where to begin.  I wanted to give something the guests would enjoy, but also wanted it to be a reflection of our personal lives.  Then I thought of the other favor that I’ve seen at weddings – a donation to a charitable organization.

The donation is something that I’ve heard mixed reviews about- some think its wonderful that the bride and groom contributed to a worthy cause instead of purchasing something small, while others disagree and say that it’s not actually a favor.

In our case, it was the perfect ‘favor’ to give.  I mentioned awhile back that I wanted to honor my father at our wedding (again, more on that in another post) and making a charitable donation to the American Cancer Society will be a great way to do so.

I still wanted to ‘give’ my guests something though; so Fiance and I ordered Livestrong bracelets that will be at each person’s place setting (in addition to a separate donation we made to the American Cancer Society).

The LS bands, sorted by size

I’m sure many of you are familiar with the Livestrong bracelets already, however proceeds from each bracelet sold go to the Livestrong Foundation and services for cancer survivors.

We also printed out cards that included an image of the Livestrong bracelet on the front and message to our guests on the back.

All the cards in the box

The front of the card

Back of the card

The Livestrong bands will be wrapped around each person’s napkin with the card in the middle

I’m hoping our guests will be happy we made a donation to such a great organization.  And if not, we will be including a photo booth and out of town welcome bags to make them feel loved.

What did you do for a favor?  Anyone else make a charitable donation instead?

Leave a Reply

