Weekend of weddings!

Fiance and I have a busy weekend ahead.  Saturday my best friend is getting married and I’m honored to serve as her maid of honor.  Sunday we travel out of town for a wedding that Fiance is in.  I’m beyond excited to see two weddings of our closest friends!!

I was telling one of my coworkers about it and she made a comment that I thought was odd.  ‘Aren’t you just going to look at those weddings and think mine is way better?’  I looked at her for a moment surprised that someone would say that.  While I can see where she would say that (I’ll be honest, I think it’s common for brides to want to think their wedding is going to be the beyond fabulous, and one of the best their guests have ever been to), I am happy to say that I feel the complete opposite.  I think KNOW that both of the weddings we will be attending this weekend will be absolutely beautiful.  They may be similar, they may be different, but bottom line is that two really great couples we know are getting married, and that’s all that matters.

I’ll admit, I’m excited to see all of their details!  I know Fiance and I will definitely notice all the little details that may go unnoticed by other guests.  For example, I am excited to see what their table numbers will look like, what readings they choose, the order of the reception (will the first dance be before or after dinner?), if they decided to get chair covers, etc.

But in the grand scheme of things, all those details don’t matter. The weddings that have stood out the most to me weren’t because the couple had great details or an awesome menu.  I usually remember how I felt during the wedding, how the bride and groom looked at each other, and if they radiated happiness.  It’s so easy to get caught up in the details, the stress, making sure everything goes perfectly.  But in the end – if the couple is having a great time on their wedding day, so will the guests.

It’s something that I strive to remind myself as I find myself in the middle of the planning process.  Have you been to any weddings while in the midst of planning your own?

Leave a Reply

